1. Home
  2. DotActiv - Data
  3. How To Classify Data In The DotActiv Software

How To Classify Data In The DotActiv Software

The purpose of this article is to act as a guide on how to open and select a desired data set, make changes and update the changes to the database. This can be done when working in a Database within DotActiv Pro and DotActiv Enterprise.

By updating the classifications and classifying missing lines within the database you will know that your hierarchy is complete and up to date. Thus trusting that the information on planograms and floorplans is accurate and up to date.  

Applicable Products: DotActiv Pro, DotActiv Enterprise

Classifying Data In A Database

Step 1: Firstly, open the DotActiv software. In doing so, ensure that you select the applicable configuration and tick ‘Select a database’. Once you have entered your password, you can click on ‘OK’.

Step 2: Click on the SQL button found under the ‘Data’ tab, as seen below.

Step 3: Select applicable detail from the left-hand side pane.

Step 4: From the left-hand side pane, drill down in detail until the desired level. For example, click on ‘market’ and then drill down to a specific store, as seen below.

As another example, we have selected ‘Product’.

Within the ‘Products’ section, you will be able to drill down into a specific category or even subcategory, as seen below.

Step 5: You can now right-click on a specific detail that needs to be changed or updated. To do so, right-click on the specific detail and select ‘View Data’. Once you have done this, the data set will open on the right-hand side.

Step 6: Now that your data set is open, you can make changes as needed.

Step 7: Update existing classifications or classify the line that are missing classifications in the ‘Data View’ window.

Once you have made changes and additions, it will appear red on the sheet, as seen in the example below.

Updating The Database

Once you are happy with all the changes or additions that you have made, you can update the database.

To do so, click on ‘Update Database’, as seen in the gif below.

Please ensure that you have made the correct changes before doing so as it will update the database with these changes.

After this, the changes and additions that have been made will no longer show in red and will remain as such until more changes are made. Please see the screenshot below as per the example we used above.

Should the above steps not work for you, please log a ticket for our Support Team who is always willing to assist.

Updated on June 29, 2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support