1. Home
  2. Activ8 - Quick Start Guides
  3. How To Create A Task In Activ8
  1. Home
  2. Activ8 - Troubleshooting & Support
  3. How To Create A Task In Activ8
  1. Home
  2. Activ8 - Workflow
  3. How To Create A Task In Activ8

How To Create A Task In Activ8

The purpose of this article is to explain how to create a task in Activ8 software. We also unpack how to reassign tasks, change task owners and update tasks deadlines.

Applicable Products: Activ8

Creating A Task

To create a new task, navigate to the ‘New Task’ tab found in the Activ8 ribbon. You will be able to find this tab regardless of where you are in Activ8.

Clicking on this tab opens up the ‘New Task’ window as seen in the image below.

Filling In The Information

To create a task successfully, you must include information in the following fields:

  • Task Name;
  • (Task) Description;
  • Type;
  • Company;
  • Assigned User;
  • Estimated Hours; and
  • Completed By.

In the ‘Urgency’ field, you can choose between ‘Low’, ‘Medium,’ ‘High’ and ‘Critical’. If you don’t select an option, it will default to ‘Low’. Each option is colour-coded. Green for Low, Blue for Medium, Orange for High and Red for Critical.

You can also add files to the task to better explain what you need if it’s a support task, for example.

If you want to assign a task to more than one person, you can create and add a checklist. Learn how to create a checklist here.

After you have added all the necessary information, click ‘Save’ to create the task.

I Am Unable To Create A Task

If you don’t fill in all of the above fields, you will be unable to create a task. The fields that require information will be outlined in red as seen below.

Email Notifications

As soon as you create the task, the assigned user will receive a notification in Activ8, as seen below. The user will receive an email confirming the creation of the task.

The assigned user will also receive an email notifying them that a new task as been created for them.

Reassigning A Task

If you want to reassign a task to a different user, first open up the task. Next, click on the ‘Assigned User’ button to change the assignee. A pop-up list of all employees will appear where you can select the new task assignee.

You can also type the name of the employee into the search bar to assign them to complete the task.

Changing The Task Owner

If you’d like to change the owner of the task, click on the name next to the ‘Task Owner’ and choose the appropriate user from the drop-down menu.

You can also type the new owner’s name into the search bar to assign them to manage the task.

Please note that eventhough you might have created a task, once you change the task owner, you can’t make any edits. Only the task owner can make changes.

Changing Task Deadlines

To change the deadline of a task, first, open the task.

Next, find the ‘Deadline’ drop-down menu and click on the date. As seen below, a calendar will appear where you can select a new deadline for the task.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is m0DbvZc4P9hvn_RXV5X36VMvKD0Wi3yRScXo1_b450hHsfuMgAK3CQSiq4LyRLoNrqzA91q41BY-ArYrBp1OP-0E08fLMnMDfbyEezQ67jQcWzCynOd8FNQwIIFujH2sOGqj0zp8

A ‘Task Deadline Change’-up window will appear after you select a new date.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is TOWjVdiWvQCYkJypd4XoSKsq5qyFkO7vtmoXwJqRGwfpQ1ctG3-6WlOzpoBPMp8PzY9KNdl715Yi5kzE8H3odae3XCliZk_nCzbmA17yDWu848QYIc3wkmbzk0q79BjYCuDM4mJS

If you want to change a task deadline, you must select the user responsible for the deadline extension. You must also include a reason.

Reopening A Completed Task

To reopen a completed task, navigate to the task in question.

Once open, next to ‘Current Status’, you’ll see two clickable buttons – ‘Confirm as Closed’ and ‘Re-open Task’.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is QU0ZugQe3QV8i23F6pmyfY0tNed4KDGVFbgb4Gd7CuJNWiBONcn9qDkKDDxb0DB2s47LGeI3wWMWXIFKulhCV8HloheCD-P2FgTpWLQmL7vS-VnrztUJ9Ut0o_ZhJNuFWKQHZTXM

If you click on ‘Confirm as Closed’, it will make the task as complete and close the task.

If you are unsatisfied with the feedback or require additional work, you can click on ‘Re-Open Task’. The below window will pop-up.

Updated on October 23, 2019

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support